What are chakras?

The chakra system originated in India over 4,000 years ago.

The word “chakra” in English means “disk”, therefore the chakras are disks of energy that feed our mental, emotional, physical and spiritual states. When we tend to and balance our chakras then we’re healthy, life is easier, negative emotions disappear and worry is a thing of the past. Description: http://www.anamariayoga.com/chakras_color.gif

Each chakra, though not seen by the naked eye, exists and has principles and attributes associated with it. These affect every area of our lives – our thoughts, emotions, beliefs, values, reactions and even our body type.

There are 7 major chakras and 21 minor chakra with a greater number of even smaller chakras throughout the body.

Where are they?

The 7 major chakras are as follows:

  Name   Affirmation
The Master Chakra The Crown chakra The chakra of consciousness

Crown of head.


The world is my teacher.
Time and awareness The Third eye chakra Middle of forehead


I am open to the wisdom within.
Chakra of communication The Throat chakra Middle of throat


I express myself with clear intent.
Chakra of love and balance The Heart chakra Centre of the chest


It’s safe for me to love and be loved.
Energy, assimilation and digestion The Solar Plexus chakra Just below the breast bone. I honour the power within me.
Emotion & creativity


The Sacral chakra just below the navel I deserve pleasure in my life.
Security & survival


The Root chakra Base of the Spine It is safe for me to be here.


They vibrate at a specific frequency that is associated with a colour. The root chakra is the lowest vibration and so is Red in colour, the sacral is orange, and so on as per the picture above, the 7 colours of the rainbow.

The bottom 3 chakras deal with issues of a physical nature, the heart is associated with giving and receiving love while the upper 3 are related to your spirituality.

How do affirmations work for healing chakras?

Energy follows our direction. If you tell yourself negative things then you’ll feel negative. Try it now – tell yourself that you’re no good, you’ll never amount to much, you’re fed up, p1ssed off, etc, etc and really get into it. Feel good?! And yet we do that to ourselves on average of 40,000 times a day. (We’ve over 60,000 thoughts a day and 40,000 of them are negative).

Affirmations are positive instructions to our mind, body and spirit to cultivate a kinder, more constructive and happier state of being. Typical affirmations would be – “I accept myself wholly as I am.”, “I attract supportive and loving relationships into my life.” “I am confident, assured and happy.” Just by repeating those words daily we automatically feel happier, more confident and more in control of our lives. They are little gems that I use often with incredible results. There are affirmations for every area of your life. (see www.vitalaffirmations.com)

Likewise there are affirmations for each chakra. They really help you stay focused and present to what you’re doing. I used the heart chakra affirmation recently on a client who had a major block in this area. Silently chanting “It’s ok for me to love and be loved” on her behalf helped this block heal in half the normal time. I was quite astonished by the results. So much so that I was telling a Reiki level 2 class recently about them. One of the students remarked how it would really help her to concentrate on what she was doing if she had an affirmation for each chakra. So it got me to thinking that I could share this information in a newsletter and hey presto this is why you’re reading this right now!

Of course you can use the affirmations for yourself. You can work with them as you’re giving yourself a Reiki treatment or you could pick one to work with each week. Write it out, place it somewhere you’ll see it frequently and repeat it at least 3 times a day. I’d suggest starting with the Root Chakra.

Most of all enjoy the process and be open to the changes that will come into your life as you use the affirmations.


086 682 4401